The Necessities

There was really just one night that I was in excruciating pain. And everyone did such an amazing job trying to fix my pain with such urgency, that I couldn’t even really complain. I know that everyone is not always going to be so lucky to have a surgeon that gifts you hand made arm pillows or a plastic surgeon that brings you flowers, or a family and husband that will literally make you the center of their universe all to make sure you feel better. However, I would like to list a few things, that, in my humble opinion, are good things to have around to make any uncomfort you may experience go a little bit easier. Everyone kept telling me, and I now I know, the mastectomy bit is actually the easiest part of the whole process. There’s a lot of emotional struggle that comes with losing a breast, but honestly, in the scheme of things, it’s really not that big of a deal. Or at least not for me. Here are a few things that I had on hand that made a world of difference for me.

  • Cantaloupe. I don’t know what they put in that stuff, but oh my god it was like God’s proof that he loves me. So, so so good. And it’s gots lots of water which is essential.
  • Lemon lime seltzer water. I’m pretty sure this stuff is infused with crack. Tim just picked me up the kind from Giant but I think I’ve had 3 cases of it already. It’s that good. And the bubbles feel good on your stomach.
  • Coconut milk creamer. I’ve been putting this stuff in my coffee and it’s magic. I’ve mentioned before that after the new year, I’m going to start on a gluten and dairy free diet. My good girlfriend Molly recently went on it and swears up and down it has changed her life. Since it’s anti-inflammatory, I think it can only help as I’m recovering. And plus, if cancer doesn’t get me to rexamine my nutrition, then I’m a complete lost cause. If it doesn’t do anything, I won’t continue just to do it. But I think it’s worth giving it a shot.
  • Bendy straws. They just make everything better.
  • Button up PJs. It’s a bit hard to move around at first and especially in the first few weeks they don’t want you to lift your arms over your head (at least the affected one), so having front buttoning PJs is critical. Plus they are super duper comfy.
  • My mother Best caretaker in the universe. Lindsey’s kisses, which she’s usually pretty stingy with, are pretty healing as well.
  • Alcohol swabs, gauze and Tylenol. And lots of hand sanitizer.
  • Books, magazines and internet. It’s recommended you get up and walk whenever you can, but obviously with drains and in the first few days you’re pretty much confined to the house. So make sure you have lots of self-entertainment. I have been sleeping a lot but after a while even that gets old, so it’s been nice to catch up on some reading.
  • Whatever the hell this chocolate divine thing is that Tim got me. God, it’s good.

20131229_192500My chest is pretty numb, and it’s a bit oddly shaped at the moment too but I can’t help but think I am the damn luckiest gal in the whole world. 2014 is going to be the year of triumphs. I just know it. Hot damn, I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

