The Church Ladies

Since I was diagnosed, I have on a daily basis been overwhelmed by the generosity of people. Offers for support, help, prayers. It’s really been a pretty eye opening experience. I am constantly reminded that people are good. And I am so lucky I get to see it every day.

One of the most incredible experiences I have witnessed first hand is a package I got in the mail the other day. In it was a prayer quilt. One of my mother’s good friends–she’s in her 80s I believe–signed me up for one of these quilts. Basically, a group of church ladies get together once a week for several hours and sew a quilt for me, all the while praying for me. Then it gets blessed when it’s complete and apparently it’s perfect for chemo treatments since people tend to get a bit cold sitting there. I have never been so moved. The fact that these ladies got together every week for me, it’s just warms my heart. I brought it with me to the hospital and felt enveloped with love the whole time. I hope one day I can repay the favor to someone.

1522099_10201295278132868_330933715_n

2 thoughts on “The Church Ladies

  1. oh my sweet girl! I’m so sorry to see this news. I know you’ve heard this from a lot of people (because many are blessed to have you in their life) but please, please, please let me know if there is anything I can do to make things easier for you. And, as far as repaying the favor…..you have paid in advance, my friend! Look at all the wonderful things you’ve done with your work and just your life. This was a repayment to you! I love you. Know that I’m saying a prayer for you and will see you on my next trip to VA. In the meantime – let me know what I can do to help with anything.

  2. Pingback: Quilts | Bitsey with Cancer

Leave a Reply

